In May 2014, Brazil hosted their very first tournament, Mundialito de Power Soccer, in Rio de Janerio. The participating teams included 6 teams from North and South America and Australia. Among the teams, it included veterans of international play: Canada and USA from North America and Australia from the Asia zone. From South America, newly established teams: Brazil, Argentina, and Uruguay. This was a qualifying tournament for teams in the Americas zone to compete to be a part of the upcoming World Cup. As of the round robin, the four teams to advance to the semi-finals were: Australia, Brazil, Canada, and USA. Australia and USA made it to the finals for the fight for 1st
place while Brazil and Canada have a match for 3rd place. In the 3rd place match, Canada was able to pull through and beat Brazil to secure 3rd place with a score of 3-2. The final match of the tournament with USA versus Australia – however, Australia was no match for USA with a score of 6-0 favoring USA. This finalizes the very first tournament hosted in South America – Canada in 3rd place, Australia in 2nd, and USA in 1st place.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.